Faculty of Philosophy

The Faculty of Philosophy offers three courses of study with a complex of training disciplines organized according to the objectives to be achieved and the final degrees.

The first cycle, institutional, with a three-year course, offers a complete and solid basic philosophical education such as to allow students who have attended the courses and have fulfilled all academic commitments, to achieve:
- the Baccalaureate in Philosophy (180 ECTS);
- the two-year training (120 ECTS) required to enter the first cycle of theology studies.



Read more In order to be admitted to the first cycle as a regular student, it is necessary to have obtained a secondary school diploma which entitles you to enter university in your country of origin.
This three-year configuration for the Baccalaureate fits the "Bologna Process" for university studies in Europe and follows the Decree of Reform of Ecclesiastical Studies of Philosophy of the Congregation for Catholic Education (28.1.2011). Consequently, the Statutes and Ordinances (III. B. 1. A) were updated and approved by the Faculty Council of Philosophy on January 24, 2012 and by the Academic Senate on May 17, 2012.

The second cycle consists of a two-year specialization that allows students who have attended the courses and have fulfilled all academic commitments, to obtain the Licentiate in Philosophy (120 ECTS) with specialization in Philosophy of Religion. To enter the second cycle, a Baccalaureate in Philosophy is required.
The third cycle offers students a PhD in Philosophy (180 ECTS) with the aim of training researchers and lecturers at university level. For admission to the 3rd cycle the degree of Licentiate in Philosophy with the minimum qualification of magna cum laude is required.

Non-Italian students must pass the Italian language exam that certifies the ability to follow the lessons. Those who fail the exam are required to follow the Italian language course proposed by the University.